#IMMOOC 4: Week 1- How are you embracing change to spur innovation in your own context?

I believe I am embracing change when I pick up The Innovator’s Mindset and take a chance on new ideas that challenge my current practices.  Of course, there is no assurance that the challenging ideas put forth in this book will change my teaching practice.  However, after just reading the introduction I am feeling uncomfortable, yet inspired, which I believe is good sign.  I can play it safe and not grow or I can see this change (brought on by exposure to innovative ideas) as a way to do something amazing in my teaching practice.

First and foremost, I need to be an “innovative educator” who inspires curiosity and wonder in her students. I believe working on my curiosity and wonder — taking time to let myself learn and sharing my growth with my students will model the mindset that will help them succeed as well.   I love the grandious ideas; however, I need to be a bit more concrete so I am also going to focus on making real change in my day-to-day teaching.

My goal is to refocus on making the The 19 Book Challenge a success.  I put this “read a book a week” challenge out for my 8th grade Media Literacy classes who just started 2nd semester end of Jan.  However, I was beginning to lose motivation as I got distracted (yes, challenge was only 1 month ago!) by the constant “have to teach this”, “got to test that”, “we are behind” daily, numbing grind of public school teaching. However, I am embracing innovation by committing to staying strong by valuing the time set aside for students to achieve in the 19 Book Challenge.

My two classes (an A/B split) meet for only one semester and is not a “reading” class per say; however, only 25% of my students are reading at or above their grade level. Using Pernille Ripp’s blogpost as a model, I challenged my 8th graders to read one book a week for our semester together (i.e., 19 weeks). Students were told this is a challenge and not a grade.

Students were given free choice to read whatever they want (i.e., graphic novels are GREAT, nonfiction is fine, romance, adventure, picture books, etc.).  Using Pernille’s “Uncovering Yourself as a Reader” survey, I found out that majority of students feel they don’t have “time” to read or are distracted by phones or noise.   Therefore, as a class we decided the first 10 minutes of EVERY class is silent reading.   Also, I have found out lots about students’ past reading successes, interests,  and so I am using my skills as a licensed librarian to stock the “book browsing” table with reads to meet students’ interests.  Supporting choice and giving time for students to explore books of interest to them (no minutes counted or reports to fill out!) is a way of bringing a growth mindset and validation to reading as a personal pursuit.

This small change in practice (cost of only 10 minutes a class) is a way to embrace innovation as I challenge myself to apply current educational research which clearly shows the power of reading choice to inspire reading for pleasure for everyone (teachers, too!).

 

 

 

9 Comments

  1. Ramona Meharg

    “ I love the grandious ideas; however, I need to be a bit more concrete so I am also going to focus on making real change in my day-to-day teaching.”. Well put!

    Have been reading a lot of Pernille Ripp lately. Trying to do same as you, find ways to adapt her ideas and find ways to make a difference every day!

    Good luck with the 19 book challenge!

    • howellzoom

      Thanks for the comment. This is my first experience in blogging so kind of surprising (and humbling) to realize someone actually read my post!

  2. Betsy McCombs

    Hello, it’s great to hear about what you are doing. As School Librarians we are typically stranded one per building. Taking advantage of an opportunity like this to connect is so important. Welcome to #IMMOOC
    I appreciate that you’ve kept this open to all types of reading and that you are giving them what you know they need most- the time. Great idea to start with the survey. It shows the students that this is about their needs and not just a teacher’s objective.
    I look forward to reading more posts

    • howellzoom

      Thanks for the welcome. Also, I can’t take credit for the survey–that came from Pernille Ripp’s blogpost about Reading Challenges cited above. However, to start with the survey really did set a tone of self-awareness—good readers know what they like, what they want to read, and when it is OK to abandon a book that isn’t meeting their needs. Great conversations outside the context of ELA classroom! I even had one kid exclaim, “Hey, this isn’t English class!” It was like the audience heckler that set up the next joke! Perfect timing to discuss the concept that reading isn’t just for English class anymore!

  3. Brittany

    I love how you devote time every day to just read. Especially knowing the low reading ability of your students, it makes it even more important. Making connections and providing choice makes more impact than any direct teaching lesson alone. What you gain by peaking into their world allows you to find better ways to pull them into their learning which is priceless!

    • howellzoom

      Lately, it has gotten harder to give up those 10 minutes. In fact, prior to starting my reading for #IMMOOC 4, I was considering dropping the in class reading to only once a week. However, I feel reconnected with core values and realize that it is not enough to take a risk with something new–I have to fully commit and stick with it for the whole semester. Just leave those nagging doubts on the sideline! Writing this blog post has helped me feel more confident in this choice. Thanks!
      Karen 🙂

  4. Allyson Apsey

    The book challenge is a great start! I love how you are challenging students rather than requiring it. I would love to hear more about how you connect students with books they are passionate about. I appreciate you sharing your story with us!

  5. Helen Murdoch

    I think being uncomfortable and nervous is a good sign. It means you are taking risks, putting yourself out there, and learning!

  6. Laura

    I love that you have issued the 19-book challenge and that you have shown your students your commitment to their reading growth by investing ten minutes of class time to reading. I also appreciate that you shared your acknowledgment of how difficult it is to “fit it all in.” That’s kind of where I am right now, too. I’m trying to do right by my students while maintaining fidelity to a curriculum that doesn’t always play well in that way. It was just nice to hear the honesty through your words but affirming to hear your commitment to the hard work of meeting your kids’ needs in a way that keeps them in the center.

Comments are closed.